THE SWIM FORUM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Is tempo trainer really beneficial???

4 posters

Go down

Is tempo trainer really beneficial??? Empty Is tempo trainer really beneficial???

Post by nightcrawler Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:04 pm

Dear folks,

I have been using tempo trainer since the year 2011, first i was using the blue one with 2 modes, then the yellow one with 3 modes released and bought that in 2013.

After using tempo trainer gadget for 5000+ kilometers swimming training and also in the races i arrived at a conclusion: using tempo trainer for stroke frequency at mode 1(seconds per stroke) and at mode 3(strokes per minute) didnt carry me to upper level, but training regularly and hard by increasing power and improving my catch and pull quality improved me. When i m swim regularly i m improving my technique and when i do my daily dryland exercises i m gaining power and flexibility and as a result my stroke cadance increases naturally(unconsciously).So there comes no need for tempo trainer. On the other hand, using tempo trainer each day makes me addicted to it and when i took of it i m feeling absence. There is one more side effect that when i use tempo trainer i m always focusing on increasing my stroke cadance and while doing this i m budging from my catch and pull quality, for the sake of increasing the cadance cant concentrate on feel for the water. Tempo trainer maybe harnessing us, however it males us neglect the technical details.

Last edited by nightcrawler on Wed Jul 05, 2017 7:37 pm; edited 1 time in total

nightcrawler

Back to top Go down

Is tempo trainer really beneficial??? Empty Re: Is tempo trainer really beneficial???

Post by SA Fri Jun 30, 2017 12:32 am

Did some waterpolo lately and fell into a nice loping style after some time that was the most efficient and quite enjoyable to swim. Really felt like Janet Evans or Harry Wiltshire.