THE SWIM FORUM
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sidestroke Variations

2 posters

Go down

Sidestroke Variations Empty Sidestroke Variations

Post by cottmiler Thu Sep 02, 2021 12:20 pm

This seems to be easy to do but gets some criticisms from the viewers:

https://youtu.be/YK1QRGFPXs8

I am new to this topic and haven,t yet tried it.

The head is always breathing out of the water and all the thrust comes from the legs. I saw other methods that had more arm streamlining but anything with glide is always going to be slow compared to the crawl.

There seems to be different ways of doing sidestroke and any new ideas for me will help me swim in the busy socially close pools that I go to.

cottmiler

Back to top Go down

Sidestroke Variations Empty Combat Sidestroke

Post by cottmiler Fri Sep 03, 2021 7:15 pm

This is much more muscular using a lot more arm thrust plus an alternating dolphin kick in addition to the scissor kick.

https://youtu.be/ziymDC73Eug

cottmiler

Back to top Go down

Sidestroke Variations Empty Re: Sidestroke Variations

Post by Don Wright Sat Sep 04, 2021 9:59 am

Ooo Er! Are we trying to resuscitate the old early 1900's Trudgen stroke?

Don Wright

Back to top Go down

Sidestroke Variations Empty Trudgen Stroke

Post by cottmiler Sat Sep 04, 2021 10:44 am

You mean like this!

https://youtu.be/UllOELIWwoA

Named by Mr T (1852 - 1902).

Aka Racing stroke or Indian stroke.

This developed into the Front Crawl.

cottmiler

Back to top Go down

Post by Don Wright Sat Sep 04, 2021 11:26 am